Like a Sufi

Dancing on the edge of the abyss
circling, circling
each pass a thanks given
to god.
Dancing on the edge of the abyss
giving thanks.

You step near me
take my hand and together,
skirts rising in a flying circle
as we turn and turn,
we dance on this precipice
Giving thanks
each pass a thanks given to god.

Could I continue without you ?
Once I danced alone,
year after year, alone.
There had been another, but she burned all I gave her.
To remove me from her thoughts.
Alone I danced, on the abyss
close to joy, closer to death.
Could I continue without you ?
Now that you are here I think not.

Yet you too will leave
Alone I found you
Silent
Unseen
Unheard
I coaxed you and you rose
and, taking my hand, began to dance
twirling circles

Why my love,
why ?
You released my hand
and you were gone.
Leaving me again
alone
dancing on the edge of this abyss.

Do you know ?
I am further from joy,
closer to death.
As twirling
I circle the nothingness.
Do you know ?

Do you know ?
I searched for you for centuries
over lifetimes
finding and then losing you many times
Then, I found you again, here
dancing with me.
Finally !

Yet you’ve left.
You say, This Us
it is a lie, it is shame, it is fear.
But my love, it is none of these
This Us is
This Us, this thing of beauty,
needs protection.
The shame, the fear, these are night creatures stalking all true love
The lie ?
What they don’t understand, they hate.
What they hate, they destroy.
Neither understanding nor having
what we have,
we are at risk to lose all.
Silence protects her.

My love
my Batini
you leave me dancing on the edge of the abyss
alone.
Like a Sufi

My love,
each turn a thanksgiving to god,
while hate brews in those who don’t understand.
This hate becomes fear, shame….
My love
Like a Sufi I dance alone
only because you are leaving
Stay !
Dance with me !
Don’t leave me again for years
alone,
my Batini.

========================

2017
Again, far from land
further from hope

About teserak1

I am Noman
Gallery | This entry was posted in Now, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

